Minimum Legal Age to Work in California

Federal law prohibits minors under the age of 18 from working in many dangerous and hazardous occupations, including jobs: Nearly all minors under the age of 18 are subject to child labor protection in California. According to the California Labor Code, the term “minor” is defined as any person under the age of 18 who is required to attend school under the provisions of the Education Act and anyone under the age of six. “Early dropouts” are subject to California`s mandatory education laws and are therefore subject to all the requirements of child labor law. Emancipated minors, who are subject to all California child labor laws, can apply for a work permit without their parents` permission. What types of jobs can miners do? To prevent young people from being placed in hazardous work environments, federal law restricts the types of jobs available to minors. These jobs may include the operation of hazardous machinery, delivery or transportation tasks, or food handling stations for minors under the age of 16. Underage workers are not allowed to work indefinitely and their working hours may depend on their age and school calendar as follows: The Labour Commissioner`s brochure on labour contains comprehensive information on laws on child labour, school attendance, wages, hours and age requirements, restrictions, employer requirements and work permits. It also contains references and links to the State Labour Code, the Education Law and other relevant laws and regulations. Is there a specific weight and height I need to have if I want to work in California at 14? California`s child labor laws allow employers to employ 16- and 17-year-olds for the following hours per week and one business day: The following persons may issue work permits: Child labor regulations may include the use of labor certificates issued by the minor`s school or the state Department of Labor and/or an age certificate document, which verifies the age of the minor for professional purposes. On this page, you will find detailed information about California`s child labor laws. While some states require working minors to provide an age certification document to their employers, minors who want to work in California are not required.

Employers are expected to identify the minors they employ and ensure that their employment complies with all federal and state child labor restrictions. Child labour laws generally only allow children aged 12 and 13 to work during normal school holidays, during normal public school holidays and during certain occasional public school holidays. You are not allowed to work on a normal school day, neither before nor after school. CA Education Code 49111, 49112, 49116 A work permit may be issued to a 13-year-old youth to work up to two (2) hours per school day and up to four (4) hours per work week if the youth has completed grade six, has been identified as a potential early school dropout and is participating in an employment program conducted on school grounds and sponsored by one or more school districts. CA Education Code 49112 Under certain circumstances, children under the age of 14 may be able to work in California. To perform any of these types of work in the State of California, the child must: The work permit expires five (5) days after the start of the school year following the school year in which the permit was granted. CA Education Code 49118 Minors authorized to work in California are subject to restrictions on when they can work and how many hours they can work. The exact restrictions depend on the age of the minor and are intended to ensure that the work does not interfere with the minor`s education.

Minors can find work permit applications on the websites of the California Department of Industrial Relations or Department of Education. How many hours can a 16- or 17-year-old work? Older teens have fewer restrictions on their working hours. They are able to perform work tasks for four hours on school days and eight hours on weekends up to 48 hours per week. Minors between the ages of 16 and 17 may work between 05:00 and 22:00 or until 12:30 on school evenings. I`m only 14 years old and I`m trying to find a job right now if I can. Do my grades have anything to do with my work permit? Children between the ages of 15 days and 18 who work in the entertainment industry must have an entertainment work permit. These are valid for six months and are issued by the Labour Standards Enforcement Division. There is also a temporary work permit for minors in California, valid for 10 days. Supervisors or probation offices of a county, city, or school district where a workplace is located, as well as commissioners of the labor commissioner and agents of the superintendent of public instruction, may enter the workplace at any time to review minors` licenses or investigate violations of California`s child labor law. Failure to provide the necessary access to inspection is a violation of child labour laws. Labour Code CA 1302; CA Education Code 49164 California child labor laws allow 14- and 15-year-olds to work in a profession or workplace not prohibited by law, including, but not limited to: The employer must also keep a copy of the work and workplace work permit at all times. These permits must be made available to the following personnel for inspection: Except in certain circumstances, employers must obtain a work permit issued by the minor`s school prior to employment, unless the minor is a high school graduate or equivalent.

Once an employer agrees to hire the minor, they must obtain the work permit before the minor performs any work, including orientation or training, and even if the minor does not perform actual duties. The school decides whether or not to issue a work permit and may decide whether to issue the permit for the maximum number of hours allowed by law, limit the minor`s working hours, or refuse to grant a permit altogether. I am 14 years old, I am trying to get a work permit and I have good grades, is it likely that people are actually hiring minors? If the California Department of Industrial Relations investigates and determines that an employer has violated California`s child labor laws, it will provide the employer with a quote explaining the nature of the violation and whether the violation is a Class A or Class B violation. Labor Code CA 1287-88 An employer may contest a summons within 15 business days of receiving the citation by requesting a Formal hearing at the office of the labour commissioner that appears on the summons. CA Labor Code 1289 citations may also be issued to any person who owns or controls the property on which the young person works, if the young person works for the person who owns or controls the property and the person knowingly authorized the offence. Labour Code CA 1301 Young people aged sixteen and 17 may work four hours on school days and eight hours on days off or on days before a day off. Eligible workers ages 14 or 15 can work: California`s Child Labor Protection prohibits 14- and 15-year-olds from working in multiple hazardous occupations or similar types of work.

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Top 3 Stories

More Stories
Aclu Legal Defense Fund